Dr. Soham Roychowdhury Assistant Professor
School of Mechanical Sciences

Research Interests

Computational Solid Mechanics; Mechanics of Inflatable Structures; Nonlinear Elasticity; Vibration of Structures

Contact Details

  • Room no. 110, School of Mechanical Sciences, IIT Bhubaneswar, Argul, Khordha - 752 050
  • 674-713-7110
  • soham@iitbbs.ac.in

Other Profile Link(s)


 Degree Discipline Year School
  PhD Mechanical Engineering 2019 IIT Kharagpur
  MTech Mechanical Engineering 2014 IIT Kharagpur
  BE Mechanical Engineering 2012 BESU Shibpur (Presently IIEST Shibpur)




UG Level Theory Courses:

  • Theory of Machines-I (Autumn 2022, Autumn 2021, Autumn 2020)

  • Theory of Machines-II (Spring 2023, Spring 2022)

PG Level Theory Courses:

  • Advanced Solid Mechanics (Autumn 2022, Autumn 2021, Autumn 2020, Autumn 2019)

  • Dynamics and Control of Mechanical Systems (Spring 2023)

  • Applied Elasticity (Spring 2022, Spring 2021, Spring 2020)

  • Vibration of Structures (Spring 2021, Spring 2020)

Laboratory Courses:

  • Machines and Mechanisms Lab (Spring 2022)

  • Mechanical Systems Simulation Lab I (Autumn 2022, Autumn 2021, Autumn 2020)

  • Mechanical Systems Simulation Lab II (Spring 2021, Spring 2020)

  • Introduction to Manufacturing Processes (Autumn 2019)



  1.  Stability and contact problems of inflatable structures funded by DST under INSPIRE Faculty Scheme

Recent Publications (International Journals)

1Sahu, S., Roychowdhury, S. 2022, Fluid-filled toroidal membrane in contact with flat elastic substrate, Meccanica 57, pp. 2303-2321
2Sahu, S., Roychowdhury, S. 2022, An Anisotropic hyperelastic inflated toroidal membrane in lateral contact with two flat rigid plates, Acta Mechanica Solida Sinica 35, pp. 1068-1081
3Roychowdhury, S., DasGupta, A. 2018 Symmetry breaking during inflation of a toroidal membrane. Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids 121, pp.328-340
4Roychowdhury, S., DasGupta, A. 2018 Inflation mechanics of a membrane reflector supported by an inflated toroidal rim. European Journal of Mechanics-A/Solids 67, pp. 34-44
5Roychowdhury, S., DasGupta, A. 2015 On the response and stability of an inflated toroidal membrane under radial loading. International Journal of Non-Linear Mechanics 77, pp. 254-264
6Roychowdhury, S., DasGupta, A. 2015 Analysis of joint peeling in an inflated flat toroidal membrane. Thin-walled Structures 94, pp. 521-531
7Roychowdhury, S., DasGupta, A. 2015 Inflating a flat toroidal membrane. International Journal of Solids and Structures 67-68, pp. 182-191

Academic Honors & Awards

  • DST INSPIRE Faculty Fellowship Award
  • Director’s Gold Medal, IIT Kharagpur
  • Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Endowment Gold Medal, IIT Kharagpur
  • Institute Silver Medal, IIT Kharagpur
  • Institute Silver Medal, BESU Shibpur

Research Scholar

 Research Scholar (Ongoing):

  1. Satyajit Sahu

  2. Prasanna Kumar Malla

  3. Purushottam Nanda

 MTech Project Students (Ongoing):
  1. Tapas Kumar Pal

  2. Stuti Ranjan Sahoo

  3. Siddhivinayak Raut

  4. Aayush Nimbe

MTech Project Students (Completed):
  1. Shashi Kant (2020-2021)

  2. Prasad Srichandan Dalei (2020-2021)

  3. Chirag Chiranjib (2020-2021)

  4. Manas Bagai (2020-2021)

  5. Subham Satapathy (2021-2022)

  6. Vikas Sharma (2021-2022)

  7. Advait Jayant Deshmukh (2021-2022)



Professional Experience

1. Assistant Professor, School of Mechanical SCiences, IIT Bhubaneswar (July 2019 - Till date) 2. DST INSPIRE Faculty Fellow, Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Kanpur (April 2019 - July 2019)  

No Records Found

Contact Us